Everything wrong with Shadowhunters in 5 Singin’ in the Rain GIFS

So I’ve been waiting to do this post, mostly because I felt like everyone kind of was already saying the same thing about Freeform’s Shadowhunters. Shadowhunters, if you don’t know, is a new tv series based off of Cassandra Clare’s highly popular Mortal Instruments books.

I’ve been a fan of Cassie’s work since my late high school years, ever since I first picked up Clockwork Angel in the “new books” section of my library (I remember that moment well). Through my love for the Mortal instruments has been fading, ever since I read the last 3 books in series which were perfectly bad in my opinion (be careful what you wish for kiddies) I still really enjoy the shadow world and all it has to offer. For me watching Shadowhunters would be a way to get into all the fun of the world and the characters in a way I haven’t done for a while.

Unfortunately, the show sucks. There are a lot of reasons why the show sucks of course, from the bad acting to the abominable script, but I thought I would list  five things that I think really hurt the show, even if it isn’t as obvious. For fun, and just because I love referencing Singin’ in the Rain whenever I can, here are 5 reasons why Shadowhunters sucks using Signin in the Rain gifs.

1. The sets and environments look like a shoddy theater production

image

None of the places look real. Everything looks staged and fake and pretty bad. I know you’re poor, but when a show filmed over a decade ago like Buffy for instance (back before they had any good CG ) looks better than you, you know you have a problem..

Yes, I know it is Buffy and Buffy is everything that is great in the world, but if you can’t be compared to a show filmed in the late 90s early 2000s, then all you have left is The Six Million Dollar Man. If you want to be compared to that–well, at that point things are looking pretty grim.

2. The fight scenes are filmed really poorly, yet aside from that, there isn’t any compelling directing

image

 

You know you don’t got money, so why you shooting Meliorn’s tent straight on? Why don’t you do some pretty tricks with the camera to make your crappy set not look crappy

3. The main characters have  no chemistry 

image

Jace (Dominic Sherwood) has always got his arms crossed and is always brooding because, feelings. Clary (Katherine McNamara) is mostly just confused and still trying to figure out how to take her lines seriously and really, the two don’t make for a cute couple or anything worth shipping on the show. They’re just there and there’s nothing between them.

That being said, Alberto Rosende (Simon) and Kat do have chemistry, its just he’s been so completely friendzoned by now, and she’s so dull, I’m not even sure they want it to happen. Thank heavens for Malec. That ship is the show’s only saving grace for now.

4. Why so serious?

image

This show takes its self too seriously, and yet:

5. None of this is believable. 

For a show that takes its self so seriously, its surprising how fake everything rings. You can tell that most of the actors don’t really seem to believe in the world that they are pretending it real. Except for, once again, Alberto Rosende (Simon) (who is the  bright star of the show) and maybe Emeraude Toubia (Isabelle). None of this is believable. Not the sets, not the characters, not the script and not the performances. As Kathy put it best, the personalities on the screen just don’t impress me–they just make a lot of dumb show.

image

Here’s to hoping the show gets better. As much as I dislike it, I think it has the potential to be a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

